Annotations in Java

Annotations can be used to give special instructions to program in Java. There are 3 types of annotations in Java.
  • Compiler Annotations
  • Build time Annotations
  • Runtime Annotations (e.g. @Test in Junit Framework)
Annotations are marked by @ symbol. We can annotate classes, methods, variables, interfaces and constructors. Built-in Annotations in Java.
  • @Override
  • @SuppressWarnings
  • @Deprecated
You must have noticed these annotations while working in any JAVA IDE like eclipse or intellij IDEA. These annotations are automatically added at appropriate places. For example – if compiler thinks that some method is old, it inserts @Deprecated annotation above the method. We can also annotate method with @Override if you are overriding that method. To supress warnings in a class, you can use @SuppressWarnings annotation.
package annotations;

import org.junit.Test;

import java.lang.annotation.ElementType;
import java.lang.annotation.Retention;
import java.lang.annotation.RetentionPolicy;
import java.lang.annotation.Target;

 * Created by ssalunke on 13/04/2016.
public class TestAnnotations {

    @Test(timeout = 1000) @Ignore
    public void test(){
        System.out.println("Standard JUnit Test annotation");

    @MyTest(myIgnore = "Yes",myPriority = 2)
    public void testMyAnnotation(){
        System.out.println("Custom Annotation ");

@interface MyTest {
    String   myIgnore() default "";
    int      myPriority() default 1;

Web development and Automation testing

solutions delivered!!