Introduction to Various shells in Mac OS X

In Mac OS X terminal, BASH is used as the default shell. You can check your shell type using below command.

echo $SHELL

But we can use any other shell. Apart from BASH, we can install and use any of below mentioned shells.

  1. KSH
  2. CSH
  3. SH
  4. TCSH
  5. ZSH
  6. DASH

You can use below command to see which shells are installed on your system.
cat /etc/shells

You can change the shell using below syntax.

chsh -s CSH

You may also like...